I Saw A Movie And A Drunk


141c7bbBefore I talk about the movie I thought I’d mention the drunk woman we stopped to lend a hand to. We were driving down Central in Medford when we spied a woman take quite the header on her bicycle. It seemed that she got her plastic baggie full of booze tangled in her front wheel and lost control. Since I’m trained in first aid I pulled over to see what I could do. She was hysterical right off but when she continued to be hysterical after she said she had no injuries my wife said to dial 911. Oh that really got her fired up. She told my wife to fuck off with the 911 bullshit and grabbed her bag of booze and started moving quickly down the street, away from her bicycle. It was a pretty nice bicycle, expensive enough that she probably could have had some of those missing teeth replaced and leaving it behind made no sense, unless…..it were stolen. At this point in time I was hoping that her breathing on me didn’t make me drunk. Oh well, off to Tinseltown to see a movie.

We decided to watch Inglourious Basterds starring Brad Pitt and a couple of fairly hot chicks. It’s a Quentin Tarantino movie and you know that any movies that he directs are fairly violent, if he’s going for box office that is. He went for box office. One of the tag lines in this movie is “We’re in the Nazi killing business and business is booming and just in case you wondered there are no good Nazis, none have any redeeming qualities and they all require killing and mutilating. Actually from the previews I expected much more killing than they provided but while it’s no pulp fiction blood wise they do get a pretty good body count. They adjust the history of WWII a tiny bit but pick up any history book provided to our children and you’ll discover that our educational system is also changing things around so why not Hollywood?

This weekend is the Oregon State Rally for the GWTA. It’s being held about 20 minutes away from my home and those Gold Wingers have a lot of activities planned. Sadly I still don’t have my Gold Wing and I’m still riding my squeaky Kawasaki VN2000. Maybe I’ll swing by to participate but most likely I won’t. I can’t even bring myself to clean the V2K any longer.

I’ll leave you with a joke and then I’m going to watch Whale Wars. The only eco-terrorists I like.

A Democrat Congressman was seated next to a little girl on an airplane when the Congressman turned to her and said, “Let’s talk. I’ve heard that flights go quicker if you strike up a conversation with your fellow passenger.”

The little girl, who had just opened her book, closed it slowly and said to the stranger, “What would you like to talk about?”

“Oh, I don’t know,’ said the Congressman, “‘How about the banking crisis?” and he smiles.

“OK,” she said, “that could be an interesting and timely topic. But let me ask you a question first: A horse, a cow and a deer all eat the same stuff – grass. Yet a deer excretes little pellets, while a cow turns out a flat patty, and a horse produces clumps of dried grass. Why do you suppose that is?”

The Congressman, visibly surprised by the little girl’s intelligence, thinks about it and says, “Hmmm, I have no idea.”

To which the little girl replies, “Do you really feel qualified to discuss banking when you don’t know shit?”

Leave a Reply

